A tradition of excellence

Founded in 1923 in the municipality of Rhode-Saint-Genèse, Royal Waterloo Golf Club took up residence in Ohain, in the municipality of Lasne, in 1961. At the time it comprised the prestigious La Marache course (also known as “A-B”) and two nine-hole courses known as “C” and “D”, all designed by the famous British course architect Fred Hawtree.

In the 1980s, the “C” course was renamed Le Bois-Héros, while the “D” course was remodelled and an additional nine-hole course (the “E”) added to it to create Le Lion.
Between 2003 and 2006, all the greens and bunkers on the legendary La Marache and Bois-Héros courses were redesigned and rebuilt by Martin Hawtree in line with USGA specifications.
The clubhouse was expanded and renovated in 2008.
As part of the club’s ongoing quest for excellence, Martin Hawtree remodelled Le Lion in 2014 and 2015.

In 2015, Martin Hawtree was awarded Honorary Membership of the Club for his contribution to the outstanding presentation of the courses.

Royal Waterloo Golf Club in
 Vincent Borremans's book
«Les Golfs Royaux de Belgique»

livre borremans icon
(Click image
to read the book)


clubhouse ancien

Royal Waterloo Golf Club has hosted prestigious international professional and amateur tournaments since its inception: the Open de Belgique on several occasions, the Challenge Donald Swaelens and the International Ladies Open, not to mention national and international junior and senior competitions and a number of European Challenge Tour events.

The men’s tournaments have been graced by the likes of Severiano Ballesteros, Thomas Björn, Gordon J. Brand, Billy Casper, Henry Cotton, Eamonn Darcy, Nick Faldo, Lee Elder, Walter Hagen, Hale Irwin, Per-Ulrik Johansson, Bernhard Langer, Gavin Levenson, Colin Montgomerie, Jose-Maria Olazabal, Simon Owen, Arnold Palmer, Gary Player, Flory Van Donck and Ian Woosnam, while players of the calibre of Laura Davies, Penny Grice-Whittaker and Marie-Laure de Lorenzi have featured in the women’s competitions.

caspers faldo

Several members of Royal Waterloo Golf Club have enjoyed professional careers on the international circuit or joined its teaching team, among them Nicolas Colsaerts, Laura Gonzalez-Escallón, Chloé Leurquin, Arnaud Langenaeken, Pierre Relecom, Guillaume Watremez and Jean Relecom.

Royal Waterloo Golf Club has nurtured a number of Belgian amateur champions who have also excelled in international events, among them John Bigwood, Françoise and Patrick Bonnelance, Christophe Bosmans, Yves Brose, Isabelle Declercq, Michel and Alain Eaton, Michael Jones, Emilie Geury, Line Sirtaine and Sophie Tornel.

The most successful, however, is Freddy Rodesch, who represented Belgium between 1956 and 1985 and won 33 national singles and pairs titles and four international events. He also featured in eight world amateur team golf championships (the Eisenhower Trophy) and was five times a member of the Continent of Europe team in the St Andrews Trophy, played against Great Britain and Ireland.


Royal Waterloo Golf Club is proud of its status as the most decorated club in Belgian golf. Between them our two “flagship” teams have amassed 50 national championships since 1946, 23 of them won by the ladies’ first team and 27 by the men’s, who won 12 consecutive crowns between 1985 and 1996.
After an 11 year drought, Royal Waterloo got back to winning ways in 2017.


The Club is run by a non-profit organisation, with the board members, president and captain being elected every three years by the Club’s associate members.

CA site eng

From left to right : Marc Ledeganck, Gérald Harte, Sandrine Ghyselen, Luc Verbiest, Carine Schueremans, Jean-Pierre Maisin, Denis Heskin et Didier Gyselinck. 

Ladies’ Captain: Donatienne Vandekerckhove.

The General Secretary, Henri Bailly, is responsible for the running of the Club.