Created in 1923 in the borough of Rhode-Saint-Genèse, Royal Waterloo Golf Club was established in 1961 in Ohain (borough of Lasne) on the prestigious "Marache" course (also called "A-B") and two 9-hole courses, the "C" and "D" designed by the famous British architect Fred Hawtree.

Between 2003 and 2006, all the greens and bunkers of the mythical "Marache" and "Bois-Héros" courses were redesigned by Martin Hawtree and rebuilt according to USGA standards.

In 2008, the Clubhouse was renovated and expanded.

In 2014 and 2015, it is the turn of the "Lion" course to be redesigned by Martin Hawtree.

 

A constant search for excellence...

Création du club par un groupe d'hommes d'affaires Creation of the club by a group of businessmen - below the photo

1923: Creation of the club by a small group of businessmen and other liberal professions, some of whom, notably the tailor Georges Romdenne, had been turned away from the Royal Golf Club of Belgium (commonly known as Ravenstein). The latter along with lawyer Rodolphe W. Seeldrayers, are considered the pioneers of the new club, supported by Count Joseph d'Oultremont, Paul Loicq and Sidney Mills. The golf course was created in the borough of Rhode St Genèse on land sub-leased to the farmer César Blaret, who himself was the tenant of the land belonging to politician Albert Marteaux.

A 37-year long lease was concluded which was to end on December 31, 1960.

The course, initially 9 holes, was increased in 1925 to 18 holes (5600 metres). It seems that the original design was made by the club pro Charles Warren, but is a signature course of  famous architect Harry Colt. The small 9-hole course nevertheless survived.

Le club house - 1928 The club house - 1928

1928 : The clubhouse, provisionally installed in the south-west corner of the neighbouring Blaret farm, was transferred that year to a magnificent Anglo-Norman-style building.

Walter Hagen et Henri Cotton Walter Hagen and Henri Cotton

1933 : The club is ten years old and organizes a prestigeous exhibition match between the American Walter Hagen (with 11 Major victories) and the Englishman Henry Cotton. The latter had just been hired as head pro by the Waterloo club on a renewable two-year contract.

Henri Cotton Henri Cotton

1934 : Henry Cotton won the first of three (British) Open Championships at Royal St Georges and this would obviously have a very positive impact on the reputation of the club, which would see the number of new members soar. He stayed for four years and his departure at the end of 1936 - for the Aldridge club in England - was celebrated in great pomp by the club.

Flory Van Donck, Head Pro (à gauche) Flory Van Donck, Head Pro (on left)

1949 : Flory Van Donck, new head-pro welcomed by the President of the club Rodolphe Seeldrayers who will stay eleven years before leaving for Ravenstein (Royal Golf Club of Belgium).

The Waterloo Club has always shone in the Belgian Inter-club Championships: for example in 1935 & 1948.

Equipe Homme Men's team
Equipe Dame Woman team
Carte de score Scorecard

1957 : The Waterloo Golf Club is designated Royal as it enters its 35th year (currently it takes 50 years to become a Royal club).

1959 : The club is refused the renewal of its lease by the owner, widow Renée Marteaux, who has real estate ambitions for her land.

According to the reminiscences of the elders, it was because she had not been recognized as the owner of the premises by certain members of the committee.

The club however is obliged to move and it is the new president André Mussche who recommended an outstanding 140 hectare agricultural site located in the borough of Ohain and belonging to the Solvay family (via its real estate company Imbra). The deal was concluded and the club inaugurated its new facilities in 1961.

Two courses were designed by the British architect Fred Hawtree, a par 73 of just over 6,000 metres called A-B, and a 9-hole course called C, which was completed by a second 9-hole course in 1963, becoming the C-D course.

 

Famous personalities: Royal Waterloo Golf Club has had several notable figures within its ranks, both nationally and internationally. Freddy Rodesch (83 years old today), was undoubtedly the most famous player in the history of the club. Winner of 10 Omniums, 5 Belgian Championship titles, several International Amateur championships and 5 times member of the continental team against the United Kingdom (among other titles), he dominated Belgian golf for more than a decade, sharing victories with the other great Belgian player of the time, Jacky Moerman.

One of Freddy's exploits was to win the 1975 36 hole Omnium by beating the professionals, with two 69’s on the same Sunday on the Marache course! He is an honorary member of our club.

Freddy Rodesch Freddy Rodesch
Freddy Rodesch Freddy Rodesch
Line Sirtaine Line Sirtaine

Line Sirtaine

Among the Ladies, we can't forget Line Sirtaine and her elegant swing, who began playing the game in 1925 and shone so many times at home and abroad.

More recently, we note the long and brilliant career of Isabelle Declercq - Dumont (now a senior and with a current handicap 2.5!) and the meteoric rise of Laura Gonzalez-Escallon who turned pro after a rich national and international amateur career.

 

The Blaret family should also be noted: Pol Blaret held the course record of 67 at Rhode St Genèse, when his son Marc equaled him in the last competition organized at the club before the move on 3 July 1960. Marc was to become captain, seniors’ captain and honorary member of the club.

Le Président André Mussche André Mussche, the president

President André Mussche (President for eighteen years in a row from '61 to '79) was also a great figure of the club, spending much time (literally and figuratively!) on the management and the future direction of the club.

Donald Swaelens Donald Swaelens

1975 : The club's head pro, the now famous Donald Swaelens, dies of cancer at the age of 39. He had just been invited to participate in the Masters in Augusta.

It is a huge loss for the club and for Belgian golf. He was part of the Swaelens "dynasty", inhabitants of the municipality of Rhode St Genèse, former caddies who had become pros at the club (Jules and then his son Donald, Henri and Joseph, brothers of Jules). The latter later officiated at Latem (golf des Buttes Blanches) and Henri's son, Freddy, at Ostend.

1976 : a professional invitational competition (8 players - 54 holes medal play) is organised in memory of Donald Swaelens. A renewal with the great professional tournaments in Belgium since the Belgian Open had not been organized since 1958! This competition will take place three times in a row according to this formula and then twice again under another match-exhibition formula. It will allow members to discover great players such as Severiano Ballesteros, Gary Player, Billy Casper, Nick Faldo and Bernhard Langer among others.

Nick Faldo Nick Faldo
Gavin Levenson Gavin Levenson

1979 : The Belgian Open is reborn at Royal Waterloo and won by the South African Gavin Levenson. This Open was organized three more times at the RW, from 1987 to 1989.

1980 : The project of a new "championship" course is adopted - the Lion, a par 72 of over 6000 metres. The original course is re-baptised as the "La Marache". The new course is composed of holes from the old "small" C-D course and new holes designed by the Belgian architect Paul Rolin. The greens as well as some fairways have been redesigned several times since then and it is the son of the architect of "The Marache", Martin Hawtree, who recently gave them their current configuration.

1985: the first Belgian Women's Open in Belgium organized on the Marache. It is the Ladies Godiva Open, won by the Britain Laura Davies, who will go on to establish an outstanding professional career.

Laura Davies et son caddie Laura Davies et son caddie
Championnat de Belgique Interclubs Messieurs 1 Belgian Interclub Championship Men 1

1985 : Royal Waterloo Golf Club once again wins the Belgian Interclubs Championship Men 1 under the leadership of Captain Pierre Van Doornick.

Green of hole n°5 of La Marache Green of hole n°5 of La Marache

2004/2006 : Under Club Captain Philippe Relecom, the emblematic course of the Marache, sees its greens and bunkers completely re-designed according to modern techniques. The greens of the Bois-Héros course had already been redone to serve as a test. This is an important strategic decision as it allows the club to position itself among the elite alongside courses that meet international standards.

Nicolas Colsaerts Nicolas Colsaerts

2012: Nicolas Colsaerts, member of RW, becomes the first Belgian player selected to play in the Ryder Cup. The Club welcomes this prestigious selection by naming him "honorary member".

2018 :  The RWGC wins the Men 1 Inter-clubs for the 28th time, a record in Belgium.

2020 : The Club now has 1920 members. The quality of its courses and facilities make it one of the most prestigious clubs in Europe.

Né en 1923 sur la commune de Rhode-Saint-Genèse, le Royal Waterloo Golf Club s'établit en 1961 à Ohain (commune de Lasne) sur le prestigieux parcours de la «Marache» (aussi appelé «A-B») et 2 parcours de 9 trous, les «C» et «D» dessinés par le célèbre architecte britannique Frédéric Hawtree.

Dans les années 80, le parcours «C» devient le «Bois-Héros» tandis que le parcours «D» est remodelé et complété par un parcours de 9 trous supplémentaires, le «E», pour donner le «Lion».
Entre 2003 et 2006, tous les greens et bunkers du mythique parcours de la «Marache» et du «Bois-Héros» sont redessinés par Martin Hawtree et construits suivant les normes USGA.

En 2008, le Clubhouse est agrandi et rénové.

En 2014 et 2015, c'est au tour du parcours du «Lion» d'être revisité par Martin Hawtree. 

Une constante recherche de l’excellence…

Création du club par un groupe d'hommes d'affaires Création du club par un groupe d'hommes d'affaires

1923 : Création du club par un petit groupe d’hommes d’affaires et autres professions libérales, dont certains, notamment le tailleur Georges Romdenne, avaient été refusés au Royal Golf Club de Belgique (appelé communément le Ravenstein). 
On peut considérer ce dernier et l’avocat Rodolphe W. Seeldrayers, comme les chevilles ouvrières du nouveau club, soutenus par le Comte Joseph d’Oultremont, Paul Loicq et Sidney Mills. Le golf fut  créé sur la commune de Rhode St Genèse, sur des terres sous-louées au fermier César Blaret, lui-même étant locataire du terrain entier appartenant au politicien Albert Marteaux.
Un bail emphytéotique de 37 ans fut conclu, qui devait donc se terminer le 31 décembre 1960. 
Le parcours, initialement de 9 trous, fut porté en 1925 à 18 trous (5600 mètres). Il semble que le dessin original ait été réalisé par le pro du club Charles Warren, mais qu’il fut signé par le célèbre architecte Harry Colt. Le petit parcours de 9 trous subsista néanmoins.

 

Le club house - 1928 Le club house - 1928

1928 : le club-house installé provisoirement dans le coin sud-ouest de la ferme Blaret voisine, fut transféré cette année-là dans une magnifique construction de style anglo-normand.

 

Walter Hagen et Henri Cotton Walter Hagen et Henri Cotton

1933 : le club a dix ans et organise un grand match exhibition entre l’Américain Walter Hagen (11 victoires en Majeurs) et l’Anglais Henry Cotton. Ce dernier venait d’être engagé comme head pro par le club de Waterloo pour un contrat de deux ans renouvelable. 

Henri Cotton Henri Cotton

1934 : Henry Cotton remporte son premier British Open au Royal St George (il en remportera trois) et cela aura évidemment un impact très positif sur la renommée du club qui verra les arrivées de nouveaux membres grimper en flèche. Il y restera quatre ans et son départ fin 1936 -pour le club d’Aldridge en Angleterre- sera fêté en grandes pompes par le club.

Flory Van Donck, Head Pro (à gauche) Flory Van Donck, Head Pro (à gauche)

1949 : Flory Van Donck, nouveau head-pro accueilli par le Président du club Rodolphe Seeldrayers qui restera onze ans avant de partir pour le Ravenstein (Royal Golf Club de Belgique).

Le Club de Waterloo a toujours brillé en Championnat de Belgique Interclubs : par exemple en 1935 ou en 1948.

Equipe Messieurs Equipe Messieurs
Equipe Dames Equipe Dames
Carte de score Carte de score

1957 : le Waterloo Golf Club devient Royal car entré dans sa 35è année (actuellement il faut 50 ans d’existence pour le devenir).

1959 : Le RWGC se voit refuser la reconduction de son bail par la propriétaire Madame veuve Renée Marteaux, qui a des ambitions immobilières pour ses terres.
Mais aussi, selon les récits des anciens, parce qu’elle n’avait pas été reconnue comme propriétaire des lieux par certain membre du comité.
Quoiqu’il en soit, le club doit déménager et c’est le nouveau président André Mussche qui propose un beau terrain agricole de 140 Ha sis sur la commune d’Ohain et appartenant à la famille Solvay, via sa société immobilière Imbra. L’affaire est conclue et le club inaugure ses nouvelles installations sur la commune d’Ohain en 1961.
Deux parcours sont dessinés par l’architecte britannique Frederic Hawtree, un par 73 d’un peu plus de 6000 mètres dénommé A-B, et un parcours de 9 trous appelé C qui se verra complété par un second 9 trous en 1963, devenant le parcours C-D.

 

Figures célèbres : le RWGC a connu en son sein plusieurs figures notables sur le plan national ou international. Freddy Rodesch (83 ans aujourd’hui), fut sans aucun doute le joueur le plus célèbre de l’histoire du club. Vainqueur de 10 Omniums, 5 titres de Champion de Belgique, de plusieurs Internationaux Amateurs et 5 fois membre de l’équipe continentale contre le Royaume-Uni (entre autres titres), il domina le golf belge pendant plus d’une décennie partageant les victoires avec l’autre grand joueur belge de l’époque, Jacky Moerman.
Un des exploits de Freddy fut de remporter l’Omnium 1975 en battant les professionnels, jouant deux fois 69 durant la même journée du dimanche sur le parcours de la Marache ! Il est bien sûr membre d’honneur de notre club.

Freddy Rodesch Freddy Rodesch
Freddy Rodesch Freddy Rodesch
Line Sirtaine Line Sirtaine

Line Sirtaine
Parmi les Dames, on ne pourra oublier Line Sirtaine et son swing élégant, qui débuta en 1925 et brilla tant de fois chez nous comme à l’étranger.
Plus récemment, on notera la carrière longue et brillante d’Isabelle Declercq (senior et encore handicap 1,5 actuellement !) et l’ascension météorique de Laura Gonzalez-Escallon passée pro après une riche carrière d’amateur nationale et internationale.
 

A noter aussi la famille Blaret : Pol Blaret détenait le record du parcours à Rhode St Genèse en 67, quand son fils Marc l’égala lors du dernier concours organisé au club avant son déménagement, le 3 juillet 1960. Marc allait devenir capitaine et membre d’honneur du club.

Le Président André Mussche Le Président André Mussche

Le Président André Mussche (président dix-huit ans d’affilée de ’61 à ‘79) fut aussi une grande figure du club, se dépensant sans compter (au propre comme au figuré !) pour la gestion et l'avenir du club.

Donald Swaelens Donald Swaelens

1975 : Le head pro du club, le désormais célèbre Donald Swaelens, décède du cancer à 39 ans. Il venait d’être invité à participer au Masters à Augusta.
C’est une perte immense pour le club et le golf belge. Il faisait partie de la « dynastie Swaelens », des habitants de la commune de Rhode St Genèse, anciens caddies devenus pros du club (Jules puis son fils Donald, Henri et Joseph frères de Jules). Ce dernier officia par la suite à Latem (golf des Buttes Blanches) et le fils d’Henri, Freddy, à Ostende.

1976 : une compétition professionnelle sur invitation (8 joueurs - 54 trous medal play) est organisée à la mémoire de Donald Swaelens. Elle permettra de renouer avec les grands tournois professionnels en Belgique puisque l’Open de Belgique n’avait plus été organisé depuis 1958 ! Cette compétition aura lieu trois fois d’affilée selon cette formule puis encore deux fois sous une autre formule de match-exhibition. Elle permettra aux membres de découvrir de grands joueurs comme Severiano Ballesteros, Gary Player, Billy Casper, Nick Faldo ou Bernhard Langer entre autres.

 

Nick Faldo Nick Faldo
Gavin Levenson Gavin Levenson

1979 : l’Open de Belgique renaît au golf de Waterloo ! C’est le Sud-Africain Gavin Levenson qui l’emporte. Cet Open sera organisé trois fois encore au RWGC, de 1987 à 1989.

1980 : le projet d’un nouveau « grand » parcours est adopté ! C’est le parcours Le Lion, un par 72 de plus de 6000 mètres. On en profite pour baptiser le parcours original « La Marache ». Le nouveau parcours est composé de trous de l’ancien « petit » parcours C-D et de nouveaux trous dessinés par l’architecte belge Paul Rolin qui a été préféré à l’Italien Mancinelli. Les greens de ce parcours ainsi que certains fairways furent remaniés plusieurs fois depuis lors et c’est le fils de l’architecte de la Marache, Martin Hawtree, qui leur donna récemment leur configuration définitive.

 

1985 : premier Open de Belgique féminin en Belgique organisé sur la Marache. C’est le Ladies Godiva Open, remporté par la Britannique Laura Davies qui va se créer le plus beau palmarès féminin professionnel.

Laura Davies Laura Davies
Championnat de Belgique Interclubs Messieurs 1 Championnat de Belgique Interclubs Messieurs 1

1985 : Le RWGC remporte encore une fois le Championnat de Belgique Interclubs Messieurs 1 sous la houlette du Capitaine Pierre Van Doornick.


 

Green du trou n°5 de la Marache Green du trou n°5 de la Marache

2004/2006 : Sous le capitanat de Philippe Relecom, le parcours emblématique de la Marache, voit ses greens et ses bunkers complètement renouvelés selon des techniques modernes. Les greens du parcours du Bois-Héros avait déjà été refaits pour servir de test. C’est un virage stratégique important car il permet au club de se positionner comme un grand club disposant de parcours répondant aux normes internationales.

Nicolas Colsaerts Nicolas Colsaerts

2012 : Nicolas Colsaerts, membre du RWGC, devient le premier joueur belge sélectionné en Ryder Cup. Le Club accueille cette sélection prestigieuse en le nommant « membre d’honneur ».

2018 :  Le RWGC remporte les Interclubs Messieurs 1 pour la 28è fois, un record en Belgique.

2020 : Le Club compte maintenant 1920 membres. La qualité de ses parcours et de ses installations en font un des clubs les plus prestigieux d’Europe.